Friday Fictioneers: Rainbow Faeries

This week, Madison Wood’s Friday Fictioneers has a picture prompt. We get to allow the prompt to stimulate our imaginations, and are allowed 100 words to express ourselves. I love these challenges – be sure to go check them out at the link. This week is about Rainbows, just look at this beautiful picture!

 

Rainbow FaeriesΒ  (100 words)

******************************

“It’s perfect!” said Purple.

The seven sister fairies all nodded in agreement. The rainbow was indeed perfectly beautiful.

“Our best yet” said Indigo.

“Uh oh,” said Blue “I think we messed up.”

“What’s wrong?” asked Green.

“Nothing’s wrong.” said Yellow. “Look at how it’s blended, the colors are spectrum perfect.”

“I agree,” said Orange. “We followed the formula perfectly, I’m sure teacher will give us a top grade on this.”

Red pointed behind them. “We must have added too much energy.”

The seven sister fairies turned to look. They broke into giggles and spoke as one,

“We made an echo!”

******************************

36 responses to this post.

  1. Such a nice post, Judee! I popped over from your in tuit blog and I’m so glad I did πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. […] I also managed a few creative writing exercises/ challenges since my last SS post. You can find them at write tuit. I’m trying to do what I can, not always the same challenge, but timing is the biggest element as to whether I get something done. So, I’ve managed one entry for the 100WCGU, Helping Hands.Β  For the Saturday Centus, I’ve managed two in the past few weeks, Texas Pleasure and Recipe Lost.Β  The most recent was for Friday Fictioneers, about Rainbow Fairies. […]

    Reply

  3. What lovely visuals you painted with your words here!

    Reply

  4. i’m having trouble seeing how the echo connects.

    Reply

    • Well, technically echo isn’t exact, it’s supposed to be a “fae word” for the mirroring effect of the second rainbow. Think of it as a visual echo. Thanks for the input. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Posted by TheOthers1 on May 18, 2012 at 22:37

    Ah! This was whimsical! Lovely! πŸ™‚

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/fields-of-wildflowers/

    Reply

  6. I loved this. The imagery was spot on. I could almost hear the giggles.

    Reply

  7. How charmingly cute. Fairies in training. I adore it. Here’s mine: http://remakingme-atiyatownes.blogspot.com/2012/05/friday-flash-fiction-country-walk.html

    Reply

  8. Charming and enchanting fairy story. And to think all those different colors can live together and get along! Thanks for reading and commenting on my story.

    Reply

  9. Loved this! Fairies making an echo for dual rainbows, now I know. Nicely done, love the dialogue.

    Here’s mine:http://teschoenborn.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers-luck-of-the/

    Reply

  10. I loved it! It’s all about magic this week, I think. I did get thrown off when the one fairy was called “Purple” instead of “Violet” (may be my Rainbow Brite upbringing). πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Oops, sorry, didn’t think of that. I always called her purple when I told the tales to my girls, but Violet might be more correct. Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the comment, interesting to know. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  11. That’s sweet – and an imaginative twist. Nicely done.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Michael Fishman on May 18, 2012 at 17:35

    Good dialogue and a very imaginative take on the creation of rainbows!

    Here is mine:
    http://michaelsfishbowl.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/and-the-angels-sing/

    Reply

  13. I love this, made me smile!

    Reply

  14. “We made an echo!” Echo, echo, echo…

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure echoes aren’t exactly uncommon in rainbows. I’ve seen them plenty; at least when I’ve seen rainbows in water… Something about refracted light?

    Anyway, this was cute.

    http://littlewonder2.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers-rainbows/

    Reply

    • Thank you, and yes, I’ve seen double rainbows on more than one occasion, not sure what causes them. Glad you dropped by.

      Reply

  15. I like the easy flow of the dialogue. Nicely written. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/05/18/friday-fictioneers-sinking-low/

    Reply

  16. That was truly cute! I love how they giggled because they created an echo…I can so see them admiring their work and laughing about the beautiful “mistake” they had made!
    http://theforgottenwife.com/2012/05/17/friday-fictioneers-2/

    Reply

  17. ^___^ what a nice story you’ve got there! Fairies?! I never had think of that when I saw the rainbow! HaHA.
    Anyways, here’s mine ….http://writeforacause.org/2012/05/18/friday-fictioneers-answered-prayer/
    Please feel free to critic! Thanks!

    Reply

    • Ha, yes, actually the idea came from tales I told my kids when they were small. They loved hearing about the rainbow fairies. Thanks for comeing by!

      Reply

  18. A truly magical tale Judee. A proper faery story told with flair and imagination! Nice one.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/pursuit-friday-fictioneers-may-2012/

    Reply

    • Wow, you are fast, lol, I hadn’t even posted this at Madison’s yert. πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for the lovely comment, Sandra.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

