Saturday Centus: Goodbye

Jenny Matlock’s Saturday Centus time again. Click the link to see this week’s responses. I’ve been running behind on commenting so forgive me if I don’t get to yours right away, these 2 weeks are a bit on the busy side.

This week’s phrase: Saying goodbye was harder than she thought. That’s 7 words, so we have 107 words to post. Mine follows below and I’ll be reading yours as I can.

Goodbye  107 words.

***************

“Push!” the nurse insisted.

Kyla held her breath and pushed. It lasted an eternity. Finally she heard the tiny wailing voice and her breath whooshed out.

A mere glimpse, then the nurse turned away. “It’s a boy.” she said to the waiting couple. Kyla’s heart bounced around in joy and sorrow, as they murmured their pleasure.

“Please,” Kyla said. “Let me see him. Just once.”

The nurse put him into her arms. He stared up at her as if in recognition.  Saying goodbye was harder than she thought.

Her heart wrenched with unimaginable love. Tears filled her eyes, and dripped onto his soft cheek.

Barely a whisper: “Goodbye.”

***************

34 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you so much, Jenny, I’m glad it touched you.

    Reply

  2. oh.

    Oh.

    OH.

    Gosh.

    This was so poignantly touching.

    I love where you took this prompt.

    What a beautifully written story filled with tender emotion.

    Reply

  3. That’s a lovely story, but really sad!
    I have carefully skipped over your 100WC as I haven’t done mine yet!
    I actually dropped by to say someone has involved me in a daft blog game and I have tagged you.
    If you drop over to my blog you’ll see what I mean.
    You don’t have to join in if you don’t want to!
    http://lorely-writingfromtheedge.blogspot.com/2012/03/elevenses-tagging-along-for-ride.html

    Reply

    • Nice of you to drop by – my mind is rather garbled at the moment, but I may play along at a later day – still, sweet of you to think og me, always appreciated!

      Reply

  4. What a timely post. At first I thought it was good bye to the watermelon and hello to the world outside. I’m slow on the uptake, but I DO get it!

    Reply

  5. Surrogate mom, I’m betting. Loved the look of recognition between them. Heart wrenching and well written.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Reply

    • Thank you Doug, nice to see you – and I did finally comment on your story, thought I already had, but apparently not.

      Reply

      • No worries, Judee,

        I don’t know how anyone keeps up with anything nowadays. it’s always nice to see you popping round for a visit.

        Aloha,

        Doug

  6. Posted by Janaki Nagaraj on March 5, 2012 at 05:46

    The ending can be anything it can be…adoption, surrogacy…well written.

    Reply

    • Thank you janaki, and yes, the tale is open to interpretation, there is more than one situation when a mother must face giving up her child. Thank you for visiting.

      Reply

  7. […] miss – but I may get it done before next Friday Saturday Centus  this week’s theme Goodbye  in write tuit Dream Journal I added a Page, titled On Dreams An Award a lovely gesture from Nia […]

    Reply

  8. This is really sad. I understand there are girls/women who want a better life for their babies, but I can’t imagine ever giving my child away. Sad. ~Ames

    P.S. The story was excellent!~Ames

    Reply

  9. I’ve no experience to draw from, but I read in this that the goodbye is sad for the birth mover, but done in love and hope for the baby’s future. Very nicely written and open for the reader’s interpretation based on their personal experiences.

    Reply

  10. Heartbreaking. I know of several young women who have given up their babies for adoption at birth. I can’t even imagine the emotions. In each of the cases with which I’m familiar, though, the families have made room for the birth mothers to have at least some relationship with the babies. It’s really a wonderful thing the way they’ve turned the tragedies of their lives into the joy of someone else’s.

    Reply

    • It seems we both went with heartbreak this time, though of different varieties. I can’t imagine it either, I guess it takes a special kind of love and courage. Thanks for commenting, Anita.

      Reply

  11. I thought the story was very clear, very poignant and touching.

    Reply

  12. Adoption would be such a painful thing to do. But sometimes, it’s also the loving thing to do.

    Sad.

    “/

    Reply

  13. Very nice piece. My heart tugged at the good bye.

    ~Melody
    MerrieMelody.blogspot.com

    Reply

  14. Posted by Rinkly Rimes on March 3, 2012 at 19:23

    My ‘take’ on this was rather distressing. A sad piece, whichever way one looks at it. Well written.

    Reply

  15. I think I know what this story is all about, This is a woman who, for some reason, cannot keep her baby and is leaving it for adoption.
    You have written a fine text, but the subject matter is almost too sad to bear.
    What an excellent writer you are.

    Best wishes,
    Anna

    Goodbye Pierre – SCwk 96

    Reply

  16. Oh I read it with sadness first time out. I think she is giving the little boy away…and I wonder why and hope it is for the best!

    Reply

  17. Posted by Karen S. on March 3, 2012 at 17:38

    Oh I hope it was a good ending too…..I too have been blessed with this wonderful time…three times….and then six times with grandbabies! Okay, I just can’t forget the puppies and the kitties born too, it’s just that I lost count of them!

    Reply

    • Well, good ending depends on how you see it. I changed a couple of words in it, perhaps it is clearer now, though it does have one extra word for the count. Remember the title…

      Reply

  18. Awww, how sweet. I hope I understand that momma was sad because he was no longer her’s alone, right? Beautiful piece.

    Reply

    • Well, not exactly. I think the word limit got to me this time and made it less clear. Thanks for dropping by, and commenting, and of course, it really can be whatever you want it to be.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

