100 Word Challenge – Leap

Okay, I kind of forgot part f the prompt when I wrote this, When Julia posted this weeks 100 Word Challenge, she mentioned Leap Year, and then said the Topic theme is a Leap of Faith. Well, it’s been a rather hectic week for me and as I was thinking about the prompt,  all I remembered was the Leap Year part. Since it’s not required to use the exact phrase, I figured maybe I can get away with it. 😉 Besides, the little tale I tell does involve a kind of leap of faith – isn’t that what most marriages are? you bought her what

Topic: Leap of Faith.

And so she leapt… 104 words

********************

They were married on February 29. He gave her diamond earrings, and whispered in her ear, “Every anniversary will be diamonds.”

She laughed and said, “Lucky for you it’s only on Leap Years.”

On their first anniversary he gave her a diamond pendant. On their second, a ring with 3 diamonds, one for each child.

On their third anniversary he gave her an empty jewelry box. “For the diamonds,” he said. “With 4 kids we just can’t afford any more.”

On their fourth anniversary he bought a diamond bracelet  for his mistress.

On their fifth anniversary she bought herself diamonds with the settlement money.

********************

17 responses to this post.

  1. I laughed out loud! Too funny! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thoroughly enjoyed this story. good flow, perfect punch. She’ll do better next time.

    aloha,

    Doug

    Reply

  3. […] World: this past week, SYW #12 in this blog, in tuit 100 Word challenge from Julia’s Place  Leap in write tuit Friday Fictioneers Flash Fiction  Alas, I missed the deadline on this one. Weekly […]

    Reply

  4. Every girls needs diamonds and its even better to have the money to buy your own – good for her!!

    Reply

  5. Great piece! I was thinking they must have had twins or something, but then I remembered she was only getting the diamonds every Leap Year! Silly me! A sad story, but very well put together. And maybe she wasn’t too heartbroken in the end – I don’t think she’d have bought diamonds with the money if she’d been hearbroken?

    Reply

    • Yeah, I was afraid that wouldn’t be too clear, but didn’t have the word count to elaborate, so hoped the reader would figure it out. Thanks for dropping by and commenting.

      Reply

  6. A sign of the times? How sad.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jonesingafter40 on March 1, 2012 at 00:09

    HA! I loved the kicker at the end!

    Reply

  8. This was fabulous! I didn’t see the ending coming at all!

    Reply

  9. This made me sad. Hope he had a miserable time. Grrrr
    Well written but he’s a b@$tr@d

    Reply

Leave a Reply

