Flash Friday: Alive

It’s Friday, and that means Madison Woods Friday Fictioneers are writing again. Each Wednesday Madison posts a photo prompt for us to write about. The only limit is, no more than 100 words. Then, on Friday, she posts her own flash fiction and we comment and leave our links for others to read. Madison’s page and all the other entries can be found HERE, so go take a look. If you want to try it yourself, check the rules on the FF link above.  This week’s photo:

My entry, 100 words:

Alive

************************************

Her senses were alive with contrast;  hot sun on her face,  icy cold water rushing over her bare feet, the rock’s warmth seeping through the fabric of her jeans, cool breeze caressing her cheeks.

Her mind was alive with contrast: Divorce papers / freedom papers; I’ve never lived on my own / maybe it’s time;  I’ll need a job / I’ll find a job;  I’ll never manage / yes I will;  

Her heart was alive with contrast; hot stabs of anger, icy chill of panic, warm rush of hope, cool splash of joy. Free at last?  Yes, and even better –

Alive.

************************************

40 responses to this post.

  1. Contrasts make life fun. They surprise us, intrigue us, makes us think, make us laugh, make us cry. And like the stream, they sure are invigorating. Just go with the flow.

    Reply

  2. This was such neat writing.

    Reply

  3. Modern and fresh. Life is always full of contrasts – the key is in how we choose to deal with them.

    Reply

    • So true, and each person deals with them in their own unique way, that’s the beauty of it. Thank you for the visit and comment.

      Reply

  4. I love the way you took the prompt and wrote such an intimate and affecting piece, filled with both uncertainty and hope. Very well done 🙂

    Reply

  5. […] but I did manage to write. We had another Friday Fictioneers picture prompt which inspired my Flash Friday – Alive post. I do love these challenges. I also have two posts for Saturday Centus, again I managed the […]

    Reply

  6. A powerful story. I love the phrase freedom papers!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Madison Woods on February 18, 2012 at 02:32

    I think you were telling my life story from a year and two back. You captured the ambivalence and excitement/anxiety perfectly. (Agree with Doug about the rock seeping, but I like the sound of ‘rock’s warmth’ that you changed it to).

    Reply

    • Thank you Madison. Sadly, I think this kind of experience is all to familiar to far too many people. But we do survive, and move on. Thanks for the comment, and for letting me know the edited line worked for you.

      Reply

  8. This evokes such a strong sense of freedom. I think the juxtaposition of senses and thoughts works well and that you’ve managed to show us what escape is without ever mentioning it. Fantastic.

    Mine’s here: http://thecolorlime.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/imaginary-friend/

    Reply

  9. Powerful story, Judee. That certainly captures everything that goes through a person when something momentous happens. Well done. 🙂

    Reply

  10. This piece spoke to me, of turning pain into a rebirth.

    Here’s mine: http://teschoenborn.com/

    Reply

  11. Echos the conflicts within most of us – is the cup half empty or half full? Good work. Here’s a link to mine: http://postcardfiction.com/2012/02/17/flash-friday-simple-pleasures/

    Reply

  12. Hi Judee,
    I liked the way you organized this on three levels and it was loaded with great description. I got this message from it: that life is filled with contrasts, pulling us in different directions. Very excellent writing!
    Here’s mine: bridgesareforburning.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  13. Beautiful story of contrasting emotions in the unknown fate that lies ahead.

    Here is mine~
    http://susielindau.com/2012/02/17/slipped-away-125-word-flash-fiction/

    Reply

  14. I enjoyed this short tale of yours Judee.
    Quite often it is the contrasts in our lives, the decisions that we have to make, that make us feel so alive.

    Reply

  15. Loved this…
    There are events in life with so many pros and cons that you just don’t know which drift to follow and you keep getting swayed between hope and hopelessness, strength and weakness…
    I have been where your protagonist is right now… hot and cold, itchy and comfortable all at the same time… but for very different reasons..

    Here’s mine – http://faitaccompli.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/moments-gone-and-past/

    Reply

    • Thank you for the visit and comment. Yes, I think many people experience constasts such as these, for many different reasons. I guess it’s inevitable, and part of what it means to be alive.

      Reply

  16. The contrasts here were great, and I liked how you took them right through the piece, gradually bringing us from the physical to the emotional. And as others have said – a conflict comprehenislbe to so many people.

    Reply

  17. Posted by TheOthers1 on February 17, 2012 at 16:07

    I really liked this! I wanted to know more about her.

    A link to my own. No obligation to read it> http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/skipping-stones/

    Reply

  18. Very nicely done, the way you carried the contrasts through from start to finish with it = alive. And a very nice way to use the prompt!

    Reply

  19. Thank you Carolyn, glad you felt the conflicting thoughts.

    Reply

  20. Posted by Caerlynn Nash on February 17, 2012 at 15:13

    Totally relevant story for a lot of people. You definitely captured the conflict!

    Read my story at http://wp.me/p1WuR1-vw.

    Reply

  21. Dear Judee,

    “warm rock seeping through the fabric of her jeans,…” This sentence kept dragging me back to it, saying, ‘fix me, fix me..’ Not going to suggest how, just wanted to mention it for your consideration.

    Taken as a whole, Alive was a heart wrenching/heartwarming affirmation of life described in the moment by a protagonist you make me want to hug and cheer for. Good writing, girl.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    P.S. I’m still waiting for madison to pull the trigger. keep an eye out for a link to my story in her comments section. Ciao, D.

    Reply

    • Thank you Douglas, and you are so very right. Rock can’t seep, though warmth can. Perhaps I should have said “the rock’s warmth seeping through..” Nice catch and I appreciate you taking the time to point it out. Will check yours later. 🙂

      postnote – I tried to comment on your blog post Horse Latitudes (excellent writing) but cannot get either openid or wordpress id to work. Any chance of you adding the option for Name/URL? That usually works

      Reply

      • Hi Judee,

        Was Horse Latitudes on my old Blogger blog? (God how I am happy to have made the shift to WordPress.) Thanks for reading that. It’s one of my favorites. I’ll figure out where it is and if it is on the old Blogger site I’ll just move the damn thing. It’s about time I ported everything over and set fire to the old site, eh?

        Thanks for the kind words.

        Aloha,

        Doug

Leave a Reply

